Crafts · Uncategorized

Leather Crafts – Handmade Coin Purse

On the weekend we went to Tokyu Hands in Yokohama. This store has everything and is especially good for people into DIY or crafts. It’s a little pricey but has everything you need in one spot.

As we were looking around they had a big display section on leather crafts. This is something I’ve always been interested in but never got around to gathering all the tools to get started. But they conveniently had some cheap leather scraps and a starter’s kit. Just what I needed! I got so excited and my creative juices started to flow.

After coming home and doing a bit of research on the internet, I decided to make a coin purse. It seemed like an easy project to start off with. Here are the steps I took to make my coin purse.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Handmade leather coin purse

Step 1
I first made a pattern on paper because it was hard to visual how I needed to cut the leather. With the paper pattern I folded the sides to made sure that it would work. Then I taped the pattern on the leather and cut using a craft knife.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Made a pattern

Step 2
After cutting the leather I glued the sides together so that it is easier when hammering holes for the stitches. I made sure I didn’t use too much glue and held them with pegs to stick.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Gluing the leather together

Step 3
Once the glue dried I started to hammer the sides to create a fold. The leather was firm so I did a bit of hammer to soften up the leather. I also pegged it down and left it over night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Hammering to make a fold

Step 4
Once the leather started to stay in its place I put in a magnet button for the coin purse to close. To do this you have to pierce two holes and place the button in the holes then fold the metal sides down. I did the same for the top part but on a separate piece of leather and glued it to the top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Putting in the magnet button

Step 5
Next is hammering in the stitching holes approximately 3mm from the edge. I found it a lot easier to hammer the stitching holes on a concert floor. Sorry I got too excited and forgot to take a photo of this process. But here is a photo of the tools I used.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Stitching hole tools

Step 6
Last step is to stitch the leather together. I used some waxed thread to stitch the sides. The leather was very firm so I used pliers to help me pull the needle through.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Stitching leather

Finished Coin Purse
Very happy with the results. It was a very easy project and I recommend this to anyone who is a beginner at leather crafts. As you use it the leather will soften up and it will become easier to open and close. I think this will be a great handmade present for friends and family.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Leather coin purse
Leave a Reply

